July 29-31, 2020

Organized by Center for Advanced Studies – South East Europe

The intelligence of the next generation of European institutions hinges on a system of technologically-mediated participatory policy-making and problem-solving.

The Center for Advanced Studies – South East Europe (University of Rijeka) is currently developing a project in collaboration with RadicalxChange Foundation, which will test and examine several variants of vTaiwan model for open-source governance in the context of European institutions. For purposes of developing this project, we have organized a series of talks on the relevant contemporary developments in institutional designs that utilize collective intelligence.

The first workshop featured a CAS SEE Weekly Seminar talk by E. Glen Weyl on the work and vision of the RadicalxChange Foundation, which has taken place on July 30th, 2020.

The second workshop was led by Anne de Zeeuw, who presented the work of Netwerk Democratie, an organization dedicated to building technologically-assisted participatory democracy.

Finally, the third workshop introduced Aleksandar Šušnjar from the University of Rijeka, who presented the Young Universities for the Future of Europe network. This is meant to enable a conversation about the development of the project in the context of new European universities as the test site for the next generation of intelligent institutions in Europe.

The workshop ended with the presentation of the project rationale and methodology draft by CAS SEE researchers developing the project.


29. 7.  


Anne de Zeeuw: Netwerk Democratie

Aleksandar Šušnjar (University of Rijeka):

Young Universities for the Future of Europe

30. 7. CAS SEE Weekly Seminars /

E. Glen Weyl: RadicalxChange

31. 7. Sanja Bojanić, Kristina Stojanović-Čehajić, Marko-Luka Zubčić, Vladan Šutanovac
(Center for Advanced Studies South East Europe):
Towards Open-source Institutions in Europe – The Rationale and the Method


(The workshop is a part of the “AI and Democracy” program, funded by the University of Rijeka.)